Audiobook Blog Tour: One to Watch by Rachel Amphlett

Detective Kay Hunter

 

 

“A brilliant voice in crime fiction.”

 

 

One to Watch Cover AUDIO

 

 

About Audiobook #3

 

Author: Rachel Amphlett

Narrator: Alison Campbell

Length: 7 hours 27 minutes

Publisher: Saxon Publishing⎮2017

Genre: Mystery, Police Procedural

Series: Detective Kay Hunter, Book 3

Release date: Oct. 03, 2017

 

 

 

 

Synopsis: Sophie Whittaker shared a terrifying secret. Hours later, she was dead.

Detective Kay Hunter and her colleagues are shocked by the vicious murder of a teenage girl at a private party in the Kentish countryside.

A tangled web of dark secrets is exposed as twisted motives point to a history of greed and corruption within the tight-knit community.

Confronted by a growing number of suspects and her own enemies who are waging a vendetta against her, Kay makes a shocking discovery that will make her question her trust in everyone she knows.

One to Watch is a gripping murder mystery thriller, and the third in the Detective Kay Hunter series. A whodunit for fans of Jeffery Deaver, Peter James, David Baldacci, and James Patterson.

 

Buy Links for Audiobook #3

Buy on RachelAmphlett.com

 

 

 

Book Review - 3d rendered headline

 

 

 

Rachel Amphlett’s Detective Kay Hunter series is simply brilliant. Whodunit, mystery, or crime fiction fans will be pleasantly surprised with her skill in plotting a crime with unique twists.  A very creative book to say the least.

Detective Kay Hunter and company must unravel a mysterious murder of a young teen at a party full of inebriated guests. An elitist church group, a strange pastor, bickering aristocrats, and young teens are involved in classic whodunit.

There’s also a running subplot since the beginning of book one that’ll keep you on your toes. Who is out to get Detective Kay Hunter? Someone is trying to sideline her every move and keep an eye on her. That makes things very interesting!

 

 

Five golden stars isolated on white background

 

 

 

 

NARRATOR PERFORMANCE: 10/10

 Alison Campbell

 

  • Narrator-Story Connection: 10/10

 

Allison Campbell is absolutely brilliant in every book of this series. She completely envelops herself full into the book, characters and plot, so it makes it easy to dive right into the story. Superb.

 

  • Voice Switch Over:  Brewer 10/10 Cassidy 10/10

This is what separates mediocre narrators from the great ones. Creativity in voice creation and the ability to switch between at will throughout the entire book. No easy feat for sure, but Allison nails it every time.

Some notable voices – Wealthy American couple. Male and Female. Aristocrat male and female voices with distinctive accents.

 

  • Pacing 10/10

Allison has a nice even pace that isn’t too slow or fast. This can be a critical element in a book if the narrator’s pace is off for some reason. I think it can make or break an audiobook in my opinion.

 

  • Emphasis 10/10

Great emphasis that successfully brings out the personality of the character and their feelings. Wonderful.

 

  • Reader-Story Connection 10/10

This is how well the narrator draws me into the story their narrative performance. If I’m lost in a story then it’s a plus!

.

 

Sound Quality: 10/10

Publisher:  Saxon Publishing

Very professional. No problems here.

 

Overall Performance: 10/10

Great book and performance overall. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

 

 

 

Awesome - grungy wooden headline on Maple wall - 3D rendered stock image

 

 

 

 

rachel 2016-2141

 

 

 

About the Author: Rachel Amphlett

Before turning to writing, Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor espionage novels and the Detective Kay Hunter series.

Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, Rachel cites her writing influences as Michael Connelly, Lee Child, and Robert Ludlum. She’s also a huge fan of Peter James, Val McDermid, Robert Crais, Stuart MacBride, and many more.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

 

WebsiteTwitterFacebookGoodreadsInstagram

 

 

 

Alison Campbell photo by Libby Christenson

 

 

Audible

 

 

 

 

audio image Alec Birri

Leave a Reply